Columbia Home
Reflections on Geometry: 3-Manifolds, Groups and Singularities “A Conference in Honor of Walter Neumann”

The “Reflections on Geometry: 3-Manifolds, Groups and Singularities” conference will take place on Tuesday, June 7 through Friday, June 10, 2022. Columbia University, Mathematics department will be hosting this event in honor of Professor Walter Neumann.

Registration is required. To access the conference schedule, please visit the website below.

Conference webpage

2990 Broadway

Mathematics Hall, room 312

New York, N.Y. 10027

Print this page
Columbia University Students Placed First in the MCM Competition!

“COMAP is pleased to announce the results of the 38th annual Mathematical Contest in Modeling (MCM). This year, 15,105 teams representing institutions from twenty-two countries/regions participated in the contest. Twenty-Three teams from the following institutions were designated as OUTSTANDING WINNERS:”-For more information, please visit website.

Print this page
Michael Harris elected to the National Academy of Sciences

Please join us in congratulating Professor Michael Harris on his recent election to the National Academy of Sciences!

For more information, visit the NAS press release:


Print this page
Amol Aggarwal Awarded the 2022 Rollo Davidson Prize

Congratulations to Amol Aggarwal for being awarded the prestigious Rollo Davidson prize in Probability for 2022.

This award recognizes Professor Aggarwal’s outstanding achievements in the area of random matrix theory and integrable probability.

More information can be found here.

Print this page
Panagiota Daskalopoulos elected to the American Academy of Arts & Sciences!

Please congratulate Professor Panagiota Daskalopoulos, who was recently elected as a member of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences!

“Academy President David W. Oxtoby and Chair of the Board of Directors Nancy C. Andrews have announced that 261 outstanding individuals have been elected to the Academy in 2022. The new members are listed below, starting with a complete list in alphabetical order followed by members organized by area and specialty. International Honorary Members are indicated with (IHM) after their names. Information about members elected in prior years is in our member directory. ”

For a complete list of the 2022 members, including Professor Panagiota Daskalopoulos, please visit:

Print this page
Ivan Corwin selected as a 2022 Simons Investigator

Congratulations to Professor Ivan Corwin, who was recently selected as a 2022 Simons Investigator!

Simon Investigators are outstanding scientists who receive long-term research support from the Simons Foundation. This is intended to support the scientist during their most productive years, when they are establishing creative new research directions, providing leadership to the field, and effectively mentoring junior scientists. For more information about the Simons Foundation and this award, visit their webpage:


Print this page

Welcome to the 2022 cohort of graduate students! A list of our new PhD students can be found here.

As a reminder, fall classes begin Tuesday, September 6, 2022.

Print this page
Ellis R. Kolchin Memorial Lecture

Please join us on Wednesday, April 20Professor Akshay Venkatesh (IAS) is scheduled to give a special talk titled “Symplectic Reidemeister torsion and symplectic L-functions” from 1:10 – 2:10pm in room 520, Mathematics Hall.


I will start with a beautiful theorem of W.Meyer about the topology of surfaces. It relates the signature of local systems to the topology of the group of symplectic real matrices.  I will then explain a new theorem about 3-manifolds that controls how this situation varies in a one-dimensional family. Finally, I will get to the main point:  an analogous theorem in number theory about symplectic L-functions.

These theorems seem to be analogous to phenomena that occur in quantization, although the precise relationship is not clear.   Another interesting point is that the topological theorem enters into the proof of the arithmetic one. I will treat L-functions as a “black box” so no familiarity with them will be needed. Joint work with Amina Abdurrahman.

Time & Location

Wednesday, April 20 from 1:10-2:10pm

Mathematics Hall, room 520

2990 Broadway

New York, N.Y. 10027

Tea will be served at 4 pm in 508 Mathematics Hall

*Kolchin Lecture Flyer*

Print this page
Deformations of Geometric Structures in Current Mathematics: “A celebration of the works of Masatake Kuranishi”

The Deformations of Geometric Structures in Current Mathematics conference will take place on Tuesday, May 3 through Friday, May 6, 2022. Columbia University, Math department will be hosting this event in memory of Professor Masatake Kuranishi.

For schedules and registration, please visit the conference website.

Conference Website

RSVP deadline: Friday, April 1, 2022

Conference Flyer

2990 Broadway

Mathematics Hall, room 312

New York, N.Y. 10027

Print this page
Congratulations to Professor Aise Johan de Jong for receiving the AMS Leroy P. Steele Prize for Mathematical Exposition!

Aise Johan de Jong receives 2022 Steele Prize for Mathematical Exposition

“The AMS Leroy P. Steele Prize for Mathematical Exposition is awarded annually for a book or substantial survey or expository research paper. The Steele Prizes were established in 1970 in honor of George David Birkhoff, William Fogg Osgood, and William Caspar Graustein, and are endowed under the terms of a bequest from Leroy P. Steele.

The 2022 prize will be presented Wednesday, January 5 during the Joint Prize Session at the 2022 Joint Mathematics Meetings in Seattle.” -American Mathematical Society

Print this page