Columbia Home
In Memoriam – Steven M. Zelditch

Professor Steven M. Zelditch of Northwestern University passed away on September 11, 2022, two days short of his 69th birthday. He was a Ritt Assistant Professor at Columbia University from 1981 to 1985 (MORE).

Michael Harris elected to the National Academy of Sciences

Please join us in congratulating Professor Michael Harris on his recent election to the National Academy of Sciences (MORE)!

Amol Aggarwal Awarded the 2022 Rollo Davidson Prize

Congratulations to Amol Aggarwal for being awarded the prestigious Rollo Davidson prize in Probability for 2022. This award recognizes Professor Aggarwal’s outstanding achievements in the area of random matrix theory and integrable probability.

Panagiota Daskalopoulos elected to the American Academy of Arts & Sciences!

Please congratulate Professor Panagiota Daskalopoulos, who was recently elected as a member of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences! The Academy is an international learned society aimed to elect membership to men and women of exceptional achievement drawn from science, scholarship, business, public affairs, and the arts. The Academy also conducts a varied program of projects and studies responsive to the needs and problems of society (MORE).

Ivan Corwin selected as a 2022 Simons Investigator

Simon Investigators are outstanding scientists who receive long-term research support from the Simons Foundation (MORE).


Welcome to the 2022 cohort of graduate students! A list of our new PhD students can be found here (MORE).

Congratulations to Professor Aise Johan de Jong for receiving the AMS Leroy P. Steele Prize for Mathematical Exposition!

The AMS Leroy P. Steele Prize for Mathematical Exposition is awarded annually for a book or substantial survey or expository research paper(MORE).

Congratulations to Andrew Blumberg and Ivan Corwin, who were both recently selected as the 2022 fellows of the American Mathematical Association!

Forty-five mathematical scientists from around the world have been named Fellows of the American Mathematical Society (AMS) for 2022, the program’s tenth year (More…).

Congratulations to Will Sawin, winner of the 2021 SASTRA Ramanujan Prize!

The 2021 SASTRA Ramanujan Prize is awarded to Dr. Will Sawin of Columbia University for his many path-breaking contributions at the interface of number theory and algebraic geometry utilizing a variety of powerful methods from different areas of mathematics (MORE).

Congratulations to Ivan Corwin, who was selected to receive the 2021 Loève Prize in Probability!

The prize is awarded every two years “to recognize outstanding contributions by researchers in probability who are under 45 years old” (more…).