Columbia Home
Will Sawin awarded Sloan Fellowship

Congratulations to Will Sawin, recipient of a 2023 Sloan Fellowship award! (read more)

“In Memoriam – Igor Krichever”

It is with profound sadness that we write to share the news that Igor Krichever passed away earlier this morning. A funeral service will be held tomorrow afternoon, Friday, December 2, at the Plaza Jewish Community Chapel (MORE).

Professor Daskalopoulos (Columbia University) and Šešum (Rutgers) to Receive 2023 Satter Prize

Professor Panagiota Daskalopoulos and Nataša Šešum (Rutgers University) have been selected to receive the 2023 Ruth Lyttle Satter Prize in Mathematics.

Amol Aggarwal Awarded the 2022 Packard Fellowships in Science and Engineering

Congratulations to Amol Aggarwal, one of the winners of the 2022 Packard Fellowships in Science and Engineering Awards….(more)

In Memoriam – Steven M. Zelditch

Professor Steven M. Zelditch of Northwestern University passed away on September 11, 2022, two days short of his 69th birthday. He was a Ritt Assistant Professor at Columbia University from 1981 to 1985 (MORE).

Michael Harris elected to the National Academy of Sciences

Please join us in congratulating Professor Michael Harris on his recent election to the National Academy of Sciences (MORE)!

Amol Aggarwal Awarded the 2022 Rollo Davidson Prize

Congratulations to Amol Aggarwal for being awarded the prestigious Rollo Davidson prize in Probability for 2022. This award recognizes Professor Aggarwal’s outstanding achievements in the area of random matrix theory and integrable probability.

Panagiota Daskalopoulos elected to the American Academy of Arts & Sciences!

Please congratulate Professor Panagiota Daskalopoulos, who was recently elected as a member of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences! The Academy is an international learned society aimed to elect membership to men and women of exceptional achievement drawn from science, scholarship, business, public affairs, and the arts. The Academy also conducts a varied program of projects and studies responsive to the needs and problems of society (MORE).

Ivan Corwin selected as a 2022 Simons Investigator

Simon Investigators are outstanding scientists who receive long-term research support from the Simons Foundation (MORE).


Welcome to the 2022 cohort of graduate students! A list of our new PhD students can be found here (MORE).