2014 Fields Medals

I thought this wasn’t supposed to be announced until late this evening New York time, but the Fields Medal announcement is now online. The winners are:

  • Artur Avila
  • Manjul Bhargava
  • Martin Hairer
  • Maryam Mirzakhani

Mirzakhani is the first woman to win a Fields medal. Congratulations to all four.

I’m not at all knowledgeable about the work of this year’s medalists, for this you can consult the press releases on the ICM page.

Update: Quanta magazine has profiles of the winners. Avila, Bhargava, Hairer, Mirzakhani.

: For ICM blogging, clearly the place to go is the blog of a Fields Medalist.

Update: According to Tim Gowers, the Fields Medal Committee was: Daubechies, Ambrosio, Eisenbud, Fukaya, Ghys, Dick Gross, Kirwan, Kollar, Kontsevich, Struwe, Zeitouni and GĂĽnter Ziegler.

Update: For two very different sorts of blog posts about the Fields Medal, see Terry Tao and Mathbabe.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

53 Responses to 2014 Fields Medals

  1. Peter Woit says:

    Thanks. Fixed.

  2. Shankar says:

    Bourbaki says – Fields Medal these days is a function of whose is in the Prize committee.
    ‘These days’?!

  3. shaghayegh maruphi says:

    I myself am an Iranian and I’m very proud that the first female winner of this prestigious medal is Iranian…..I hope my generation can pursue her work and win more medals….
    Just for mathematics 🙂

Comments are closed.